Craig McDonald

craigmcdonaldCraig McDonald is an award-winning author and journalist. The Hector Lassiter series has been published to international acclaim in numerous languages (French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Mongolian, and Spanish).

McDonald’s debut novel Head Games was nominated for Edgar®, Anthony and Gumshoe awards in the U.S. and the 2011 Sélection du prix polar Saint-Maur en Poche in France. Head Games is soon to appear in graphic novel format from First Second Books, an Eisner Award winning imprint of Henry Holt & Co. The Lassiter series has been enthusiastically endorsed by a who’s who of crime fiction authors.

Author’s website:



“I don’t think there’s anything quite like them. These are incredible novels… Not only is the series a one-of-a-kind, but Craig has done one better by trying to make each novel a different novel.”   —James Sallis

McDonald covers-page-001 Death in the Face
This series from Edgar®- and Anthony-nominated author Craig McDonald has won the love of an enthusiastic international readership. The cycle features a larger-than-life crime writer Hector Lassiter, an epitome of bygone masculinity and a witness of major events of the 20th century and its secret history. The Lassiter novels spin around unexplored and underexplored aspects of real historical events. They are set in real places and incorporate real people.

As author Duane Swierczynski said, “Reading a Hector Lassiter novel is like having a great uncle pull you aside, pour you a tumbler of rye, and tell you a story about how the 20th century ‘really’ went down.”

Betimes Books released in 2014 and 2015 four previously published and five new Hector Lassiter novels, issuing them in a chronological order for the first time: One True Sentence, Forever’s Just Pretend (new), Toros & TorsosThe Great Pretender (new), Roll the Credits (new), The Running Kind (new),  Head Games, Print the Legend, and Death in the Face (new). The last Hector Lassiter novel, Three Chords and the Truth, and a short stories collection Write from Wrong will come out in 2016 and 2017.

Publisher: Betimes Books. Rights held: World (consult us about rights to individual titles)

 HEAD GAMES – graphic novel

HeadGames_08-19-14_72dpi.35-page-001Publisher: First Second Books – Macmillan US (2017)

Rights held: French & Russian. All other rights: